COUNCILLOR ANDREW WALMSLEY, MAYOR

MINUTES OF: THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

DATE OF MEETING: 17th May 2024

PRESENT: The Mayor Councillor Walmsley (in the Chair) Councillors Ashworth, A. Barnes, S. Barnes, Bauld, Belli, Bleakley, Cheetham, Driver, Eaton, Gill, Hancock, Harris, Harrison, Hodgkiss, Holland, Kenyon, Looker, Lythgoe, McInnes, McMahon, Neal, Norton, Procter, Royds, M. Smith and Woods.

IN ATTENDANCE: Clare Birtwistle, Head of Legal/Monitoring Officer Stephanie Carroll, Civic Services Officer and Leader's PA George Taylor, Mayor's Attendant Darren Kershaw, Mayor's Attendant

ALSO PRESENT: 65 guests

CIVIC MATTERS

1. Election of the Mayor

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/25. Councillor Judith Driver was proposed by Councillor Alyson Barnes and seconded by Councillor Alan Neal.

Resolved:

That Councillor Judith Driver be appointed as the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

NB: The New Mayor, Councillor Judith Driver, chaired the meeting from this point forward.

2. Election of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/25. Councillor Annie McMahon was proposed as Deputy Mayor by Councillor Samantha Harrison and seconded by Councillor Alan Woods.

Resolved:

That Councillor Annie McMahon be appointed as the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

3. Presentation and Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor and Mayoress

Councillor Michelle Smith moved the vote of thanks and spoke in relation to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress, seconded by Councillor Anne Cheetham, to which Councillor Andrew Walmsley responded.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Councillor Andrew Walmsley for the excellent manner in which he has fulfilled his duties as Mayor.

BUSINESS MATTERS

4. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received for Councillors Adshead, Payne and S.Smith.

5. Minutes of the last meeting

Resolved:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 20th March 2024 be signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

6. Urgent Items of Business

There were no urgent items of business.

7. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

8. Appointment of the Leader of the Council

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Leader of the Council for a 4 year term.

Councillor Adrian Lythgoe moved and Councillor Marilyn Procter seconded that Councillor Alyson Barnes be appointed Leader of the Council.

Resolved:

That Councillor Alyson Barnes be appointed Leader of the Council for a 4 year term.

9. Retiring Councillors – Vote of Thanks

Councillor Liz McInnes spoke in relation to those councillors who had retired following the Elections on 2nd May 2024 including former Councillor Steve Hughes who had retired in November 2023. The vote of thanks was seconded by Councillor Alan Woods.

Resolved:

That the grateful thanks of this Council be offered to Barbara Ashworth, Mary Coogan, David Foxcroft, Steve Hughes, Janice Johnson, Andy MacNae, Patrick Marriott, Granville Morris, Jackie Oakes, Dayne Powell, Jenny Rigby, Gemma Rooke, Caroline Snowden, Laura-Beth Thompson and Janet Whitehead for their hard work throughout their service as elected members of the borough.

10. Election of Councillors

The Monitoring Officer reported that the following persons had been elected councillors on 2nd May 2024 and had each made the necessary Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor welcomed all new and returned councillors to the Council.

Resolved:

That it be noted that the following persons were elected on 2nd May 2024.

Name of Person Elected Ward

Judith Driver	Bacup
Jimmy Eaton	Bacup
David Hancock	Bacup
Danielle Ashworth	Britannia & Lee Mill
Michelle Smith	Britannia & Lee Mill
Andrew Walmsley	Britannia & Lee Mill
Alyson Barnes	Goodshaw & Cribden
Christine Gill	Goodshaw & Cribden

The Mayor wished them well in their role as a councillor.

11. Communications from the Mayor, the Leader or Head of Paid Service There were no communications.

12. Urgent decisions

Council noted the Special Urgency Decision taken 18th April 2024 regarding the acceptance of the Household Support Fund 5 (HSF5) grant, and the Special Urgency Decision taken 2nd May 2024 regarding the acceptance of the FCC grant for the redevelopment of Edgeside Park Wheeled Sports facility.

13. Political Balance, Committees and Outside Bodies

The Council considered the Political Balance, Committees and Outside Bodies report.

Resolved:

That the Council confirm appointments proposed by the various political groups as set out in the following appendices:

- Appendix A Draft political balance calculation
- Appendix B Draft committees of the Council, working groups, member champions and other meetings.

Reason for Decision

To ensure that the Council can effectively conduct its business.

Alternative Options Considered

None.

SPECIAL MEETING ITEMS

14. Honorary Aldermen

In accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council considered nominations to receive the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of eminent service to the Borough.

Councillor Andrew Walmsley proposed Jackie Oakes, seconded by Councillor Alyson Barnes.

Resolved:

That in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following individuals in recognition of their service and dedication to the local community as a councillor for the borough of Rossendale:

• Jackie Oakes

Special thanks was given to George Taylor who was retiring after 12 years' service as Mayor's Attendant.

(The meeting commenced at 6.30pm and concluded at 8.08pm)

Signed	
-	(Chair)
Date	